Skip to content

Little Bits of Faith………………

September 13, 2010
Close-up photo of a mustard seed.

Image via Wikipedia

On of my favorite Biblical references to Faith is this…………….’If you have the Faith the size of a Mustard Seed and you say to this mountain be ye removed and cast into the sea………..It Shall Be Done’! Actually, the correct verse is listed below:

Matthew 17:20 (Whole Chapter)
And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If yehave faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.

On this past Friday, my Son, Christian, gave me the lesson all over again. My wife’s car had stopped on me and would not re-start no matter how much I tried. After several hours of trying to solve the problem, I finally gave up and decided to walk the two(2) miles from the FEDEX Office Store, where the car stopped, to my office.

The problem did not end there. I had to make arrangements to get pick up my wife from her work and then prepare to get the car towed to whatever shop that I decided to diagnose and repair whatever the problem was. Fortunately, for me, I had only days before stopped at a shop near my office that specialized in Japanese autos. My wife’s car is a Lexus. I called them and they were prompt in giving me an estimate of the repair and I made a decision to get the car to them as soon as possible the next morning.

The only other item to handle was to figure out how to get my son, Christian, to school that next morning. As far as I was concerned, he could simply miss one day of school without too much drama. As I saw it, he could spend the day ‘hanging out’ with me, if necessary.

Apparently Christian did not get the memo…………….On Friday morning he jumped up out of bed like a light. He was ready and excited to get to school and to get there immediately. As I ‘later found out, his school had planned a ‘Flag Football Day’ for that Friday and he had no plans to miss that game! I, on the other hand, had made no plans to get him to school on time. In fact, I was fully prepared to have him’ hang out’ with me all day, if necessary. My focus was on more ‘pressing matters’, like getting my wife to work and getting the car towed to the repair shop.

After listening to his complaining for several moments and seeing his utter disappointment, I finally said to him to ‘get dressed’! At that moment I had no idea how I was to get him to school in any kind of a timely fashion, but the thought did occur to me that ‘If I had the Faith of a Mustard Seed’……………………..Surely this could be done!

We left the house and walked to the McDonald’s nearest to us. Surely on of my friends would come in for coffee and assist us. I have coffee there on most mornings and usually run into someone that I know well enough to help. (There is no public transportation that will get us from where we live to the school directly and none of my immediate friends/neighbors were answering their phones.) While sitting in the McDonald’s , it suddenly occurred to me that I had committed to attend a local Toast Masters International Club meeting! That meeting was being held at another local restaurant, not too far from the McDonald’s. It was so close that Christian and I simply walked there and got there in plenty of time to see my friend Joyce K., before her speech! (I had run into Joyce at St. Mountain Park several days before and she invited me to come and hear her speech and enjoy a breakfast on her.)

Immediately, I got an inspiration. Actually, Christian gave me one. He said, “Dad, the football game will began at 8:00am and I don’t want to miss it”! ‘I don’t want to sit here and listen to some boring speech while my classmates are playing flag football'; was really what he was saying. Without much hesitation, I asked Joyce if I could use her car for just a moment to drop Christian off at school and then return to have breakfast and hear her speech. She immediately agreed!

I got Christian to school in plenty of time for his most important ‘flag football’ game, but when I returned to the Toast Masters International Club Meeting, Joyce had already given her speech and apparently it was a great one. Everyone loved it. As disappointed as I was to miss her speech, I was elated to share with her the ‘Little Bit of Faith’ lesson that I just experienced. I also got the essence of the speech, because Toast Masters International is in the business of ‘critiquing’ speakers and presenters; it is a great place to people to hone their speaking skills. I was present during the evaluation of her speech and I got much of the message of the speech.

I was so excited that I agreed to be one of the speakers at the next (Friday) Toast Masters International Club meeting. I very much enjoyed the time I was there and I actually re-connected with Joyce and with another Club Member, Jay H. (Jay is writing a book about the 5 principals needed to attain success, in anything). As it turned out, Joyce, Jay, Roger (another club member) went for coffee after the meeting and had a delightful time discussing all manner of things, including Jay’s upcoming book.

The final ‘icing on the cake’ was that my friend and fellow Hiker, Joyce and I got to spend some time and catch up and she then gave me a ride to the repair shop. They arranged to tow my wife’s car and they even gave me a ‘loaner’ car to drive while the Lexus was being serviced.

This is what a ‘Little Bit of Faith’ will do for you…………………………. Lesson Learned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

